Islam has laws regarding which foods, which either by nature of the food or by means of preparation, cannot be eaten.
Muslims are required to eat pure (halal) foods.
Foods which are allowed are referred to as halal.
Meats are generally halal but an example of meat which would be haram (illegal) would be pork.
An example of food which would not be legal because of how it was prepared would be foods which contain
- hydrolyzed animal protein
- Lactylated fatty acid esters
- Magnesium stearate
- Mono & Di-glycerides
- … the list goes on.
In September, 2000, a McDonalds restaurant in Dearborn Michigan “began offering a halal version of its chicken nuggets.”
The reason is obvious: not everyone pursuing a halal diet wanted to be restricted to salads when visiting the restaurant.
Well then … wouldn’t every restaurant seek halal certification?
Sadly, not every food provider can attain this level.
The process, should a food manufacturer wish to to attain halal certification, is not something to be taken lightly.
Documentations have to be submitted such as specification sheets, labels, flow charts, cleaning procedures, etc; a company must “arrange for an audit/inspection of the facility in order that IFANCA may review the process, products, materials and sanitation of the production process;” and even after approval, the certification might only apply to one calendar year or in some cases only to one particular batch.
MatchaGT has met the criteria for halal certification.
We are proud of that accomplishment.
We add no artificial colors to our Matcha.
We add no artificial flavorings.
Matcha GT: the highest and purest Natural source of green tea’s energy and antioxidants, vitamins, minerals and fibers.